ITIL 4 Trails – The ITIL Practices

The ITIL Practices are one of the six components of the ITIL Service Value System (SVS) and support the activities of the service value chain to provide a comprehensive and adaptable toolset for service management. ITIL describes 34 practices, but only 15 are covered at the Foundation level. Out of these 15 practices, 7 practices need to be studied in detail. These 7 core practices are the Continual Improvement Practice, the Change Control Practice, the Incident Management Practice, the Problem Management Practice, the Service Request Management Practice, the Service Desk Practice, and the Service Level Management Practice.

As this is an ITpreneurs Pro learning product, it also means that the training program is enhanced with a case study (based on the famous Axle Car Hire story), pre- and post-course reading materials, and a set of quick reference cards.


Excl. VAT

  • Full lifetime access

  • Certificate of Completion

Are you a professional instructor, a training provider or do you want to use the courseware to train your colleagues? ITpreneurs uses Leapest for all business accounts.

What you'll learn

At the end of this Trail, participants will be able to:

  • Learn the various ITIL practices and understand the purpose and key terms of 15 ITIL practices.    


Certificate: ITIL Foundation

Duration: 120 minutes


Delivery Method:

  • Self-Study e-book
  • Practice Questions
  • Pre-course Reading
  • Post-course Reading
  • Quick Reference Cards
  • Video lessons



  • The ITIL® Practices
  • The Continual Improvement Practice
  • The Change Control Practice
  • The Incident Management Practice
  • The Problem Management Practice
  • The Service Request Management Practice
  • The Service Desk Practice
  • The Service Level Management Practice
  • Purpose of ITIL Practices



The ITIL® (4) Trails targets the participants in the IT and business domains who wish to take first steps in service management or who are familiar with earlier versions of ITIL and/or other sources of industry best practice and wish to learn about ITIL 4. This course and the related certification can be beneficial for the following roles:

  • IT Support Staff
  • IT Consultants
  • Business Managers
  • Business Process Owners
  • IT Developers
  • Service Providers
  • System Integrators
  • Anyone working in a Devops team

Exam facts


Format: Closed Book


Duration: 30 minutes (15 minutes additional for non-native English Speakers)

No. of Questions:  simple multiple choice

Pass Grade: %

Please note that if an exam voucher is included, you are able to schedule your exam for up to twelve months.